Meditation Terms


The term “meditation” can define both the state of awareness when one has no thought as well as thepractice of techniques that help achieve this state. Meditation is the basis of Sahaja technique and through its practice we achieve our spiritual growth, solve our emotional and mental problems and transform our personality.

When the state of meditation is achieved, we are in contact with Reality, with the power that is omnipresent and omniscient. It is a natural, subtle and living process which happens when our Kundalini energy rises to the seventh energy center at the crown of our head and connects us to the power that pervades everything.

After experiencing Self-Realization (the awakening of our Kundalini energy), we can develop our meditation by practising simple Sahaja Meditation techniques for 10-15 minutes in the morning and before going to bed.

More on meditation »

Kundalini Energy

The mothering subtle energy that is stored at the base of the spine in the “sacrum” bone. Many prophets and saints described their experiences of this energy throughout the ages. Today, the knowledge of Kundalini no longer belongs to books. This energy can be awakened within us through the experience of Self-Realization. The Kundalini energy within us connects us to the Energy that pervades everything and begins its work of cleansing and balancing our energy centers and channels.

More on Kundalini »


We can say attention is the surface or the edge of awareness; wherever we are made aware the attention gets diverted to that point. You can see from this analogy: All the filings of iron have got a power to be attracted towards the magnet. Where is that power, you cannot locate. It is all over. Wherever the magnet is placed the filings are attracted. Our attention is also like that; that wherever we are attracted our attention goes there.

Shri Mataji Nirmala Devi

The attention is a very important faculty within us. Our spiritual growth happens through our attention. It is often damaged by over-emphasis on the intellectual side of our nature. So the attention itself must be cleansed, steadied and healed. This is a natural process performed by the Kundalini energy.


These are subtle energy centers that are located at the sites of the main nervous plexuses. A chakra is a wheel (this is the literal Sanskrit meaning) of energy. There are seven main chakras in our subtle system, which relate to the stages of evolution. Once awakened (i.e., after self-realization) they begin to emit vibrations, expressing their unique pure qualities within us. It is in this sense that we are created in the image of God. Physical, mental and emotional problems can also be traced to an imbalance in one or several chakras.

More on Chakras »


A catch occurs when the efficient functioning of the chakra is impaired. This blocks the passage of the Kundalini energy through that chakra to a higher level. Chakras can become distorted and bruised, and this is the root cause of problems in our lives.

After the awakening of our Kundalini energy, we develop vibratory awareness, the sensitivity to subtle energy on our own central nervous system. We can feel which chakra or channel catches and we can use simple Sahaja Meditation techniques to correct them. Also, as we develop our meditation, the Kundalini energy starts to naturally repair bruised chakras and the problems disappear. It is very important, however, not to focus attention on catches. Keep your attention on the Kundalini and on the positive aspects of your growth.

Spirit (Pure Self)

This is the reflection of the Divine which is present within us. The object of Sahaja Meditation is to fully become Spiritual Self, which is the true Self. By virtue of Kundalini awakening, the Spirit can be perceived and felt in our attention, and we can then live and act in harmony with the Divine.

The seat of the Spirit is within our Heart chakra.


Once the Kundalini energy is awakened, vibrations can be felt on the palms of the hand, in the body and on top of the head. Everything in creation emits vibrations, but the ability to feel them comes only with Kundalini awakening. Anyone or anything emitting cool (not cold) vibrations is balanced. Hot, tingling vibrations are emitting when there is an imbalance or lack of harmony with the Spirit.